The National Quality Framework and the National Quality Standards

Established in 2012, the National Quality Framework (NQF) raises quality and drives continuous improvement and consistency in Australian education and care services. The NQF applies to most long day care, family day care, preschool/kindergarten and outside schools hours care services.

The National Quality Standard (NQS) is a key aspect of the NQF and sets a national benchmark for early childhood education in Australia. Every service in Australia is assessed to make sure it meets the new quality standard benchmarks.

The NQS is linked to national learning frameworks, which recognises that children learn from birth. It outlines practices that support and promote children’s learning. These are:

The NQS introduces ratings for children's education and care services. Each service receives a rating for:

  • seven quality areas, and
  • an overall rating.

There are five rating levels which are awarded as follows:

  • Excellent rating – awarded by ACECQA (Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority)
  • Exceeding National Quality Standard
  • Meeting National Quality Standard
  • Working Towards National Quality Standard
  • Significant Improvement Required

Th BKKC has been rated ‘EXCEEDING’ by the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority (ACECQA). 


Quality ratings of assessed services are published on the national register of services and on the MyChild website.